I grew up with the L. L. Bean brand. It was very popular amongst some of my family members and I loved their backpacks. I even remember traveling with my aunt, uncle and cousins from Rhode Island all the way to Maine to visit the big L. L. Bean store. I suppose every New Englander has to make this trip at least once in his or her lifetime.

When I first started to really care about my appearance, however, I turned my back on them. I just never really associated the brand with stylish clothes.

Well, a lot has changed since I was a kid.

Former Ralph Lauren and Abercrombie & Fitch designer Alex Carleton joined the L. L. Bean team in 2009 to evolve the Signature line, a collection branching off of the main line. “We wanted clothes that made sense in both the city and the country,” he told Esquire magazine. Carleton is a native of Massachusetts, so he knows all about the functionality clothes need to have when faced with the New England landscape.

As a native New Englander myself and a lover of plaid, I do love the L. L. Bean Signature line. Carleton has helped bring the illustrious brand back to its former glory.

Check out my picks from the collection …

Leave a Reply

